Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

While I personally really enjoyed them, the first two tracks we heard from supergroup Killer Be Killed left a lot of metal fans unsatisfied. Their complaints seemed to be that the tracks were pretty standard metal, featuring very little of what made Troy Sanders’ Mastodon or Greg Puciato’s Dillinger Escape Plan great. And I understand that, even if I disagree.

Perhaps this new track, “I.E.D.” will turn these people around. I say perhaps because I honestly don’t know. On the one hand, the track is much heavier than either “Wings of Feather and Wax” or “Face Down,” but still doesn’t sound much like Sanders or Puciato had a huge influence.

Instead, it sounds like Max Cavalera doing his thing. But while Cavalera hasn’t really done much of worth in a number of years, this is pretty great. Even if the other members aren’t adding much of their own sound, it’s clear that they are a big part of what’s made these tracks great so far, and they seemed to have revitalised Cavalera.

I don’t like this track as much as either of the previous two, but I am still really digging it. It’s just some good heavy thrash. I really enjoy the Dillinger Escape Plan and Mastodon, but their lack of influence on these tracks isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I would love it if Max Cavalera did something a bit different for once, but three guys trying to add their completely incompatible sounds just doesn’t work. It’s the reason most supergroups fail.

You can listen to “I.E.D.” above. Killer Be Killed comes out May 13 on Nuclear Blast.