Tags

, , ,

As they begin to tease some new music, the hype train for Slipknot’s upcoming fifth album has officially left the station. Despite being one of the biggest bands in modern heavy music, Slipknot are often seen by metalheads to be a bit of a joke, and it’s not difficult to see why. Their gimmick is dumb, their lyrics are often juvenile and they’re universally seen as the poster boys for awkward teens who are angry at their parents. All this is true to some extent, and yet I honestly love them.

It’s generally agreed that Slipknot may have served for many as a “gateway” metal band, and that people are supposed to grow out of it at some point and start listening to “real metal.” Either that or, to those that aren’t metalheads, you’re supposed to calm down and start listening to “real music.” I can certainly say that in my experience neither of these are true. As I have grown I’ve found myself branching out in both directions. I’ve embraced the heavier and more complex side of metal but at the same time I listen to a lot less metal overall than I used to. The fact is that my tastes are diverse. I have equal admiration for complex progressive songs as I do for simple folk tunes played on acoustic guitar. I can appreciate a simple pop tune just as I can an ambient or avant-garde piece. I understand how pretentious all this likely sounds but my point is that my tastes are diverse. I’m not a devout follower of one particular genre or style, I simply love music.

As for the metal side, I certainly listen to heavier and more complex music than Slipknot. Recently I, like many others, have really enjoyed the works of shoegaze/black metal hybrid Deafhaven. I’ve also finally gotten around to listening to progressive metal heavyweights Between the Buried and Me and found that I also really enjoy their work. Perhaps most extremely, I’ve recently discovered a fondness for the grindcore group Nails, whose work is so heavy that it manages to swing back round to having a relaxing, almost ambient quality.

Normally I wouldn’t write a piece like this. I’m fully aware that it looks as though I’m showing off my metal credentials, something I honestly don’t care about. But my point is that I listen to a lot of what many would obnoxiously call “real metal,” and yet I don’t feel as though I’ve outgrown Slipknot at all. They remain a band that I love. It is possible to enjoy both complex and simplistic pieces, both light and heavy.

Don’t get me wrong, Slipknot are far from a flawless band, there’s a lot wrong with them. As I’ve already mentioned they’re lyrics are often beyond stupid. Frontman Corey Taylor has admitted to sometimes picking random words from the dictionary when he can’t find an appropriate one, which sometimes leads to lines that stand out, and not in a good way. Then there’s the fact that their angrier songs can often come across as stupid lyrically, with “Spit it Out” and “Disasterpiece” perhaps being the biggest offenders.

This is undoubtedly a flaw in the band’s music but I get a certain enjoyment out of it. Early Slipknot is pretty much pure primal anger (something that many people consider a flaw, but I don’t) and anger can often come across as kind of stupid. We’ve all had a moment where somebody is trying to convey anger and we can’t help but stifle laughter. Is Slipknot dumb music for angry teens, as many people claim? Perhaps, but it’s damn good at it. Besides, many of the arguments against the band seem dated. Since Vol. 3: The Subliminal Verses they’ve refined their lyrics and songwriting a lot. It may be in a direction that many fans don’t like, but it’s not something that ever seems to be acknowledged during arguments against them. It’s much harder to claim that that they make dumb, angry music when their biggest hit is the ballad “Snuff.” And unlike many other heavy bands who have hits with uncharacteristically soft songs, that one is fairly indicative of the band’s current sound.

But most of all, I like Slipknot because I like the music. It really is that simple. I consider Corey Taylor to be my favourite singer in heavy metal, both for clean vocals and screams. Furthermore, the band has multiple talented songwriters, particularly the late Paul Grey and while it’s often joked that they have far too many members, the end product tends to be extremely well put together. I’m excited for the band’s upcoming fifth album and while they may have flaws I’m happy to call myself a fan. Join me next week when I’ll be giving a retrospective on each of the band’s albums.