Tags

, , , , ,

Slipknot have dropped “The Devil in I,” the second single from their upcoming fifth studio album. Following the heavier throwback single “The Negative One,” this track serves as the album’s first radio single.

Upon first listen it’s not bad. The worst I could say about it is that it’s a victim of hype. This track had been described by Corey Taylor as having a very interesting, dark sound to it which it simply doesn’t. In fact it really just sounds like your average Slipknot single, although noticeably less catchy than most.

I’ve only listened to it a couple of times as of now, but to me the track’s chorus is an absolute killer; accessible while still having a punch to it. But so far the verses just haven’t clicked for me. Hopefully in time they’ll grow on me, as the band’s previous single did.

You can listen to “The Devil in I” above. Slipknot’s fifth studio album, .5: The Grey Chapter will be released later this year.