Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

5: Slash – World on Fire

World On FireIn all honesty I’ve listened to plenty of worse albums this year, but disappointing just sticks with you a lot more. I didn’t exactly love Slash’s last album, Apocalyptic Love but it was far from bad. I really liked his last single “Nothing Left to Fear” which allowed vocalist Myles Kennedy to push himself a bit further. I thought the same was true of Myles vocals on the last Alter Bridge album, Fortress.

With that in mind, World on Fire was a massive step back. Everything about this album is uninspired and boring, from Slash’s riffs to Myles’ vocals. These two are capable of making great music together, and they likely would if they allowed themselves to stray from the formula a bit more. As it stands, this album is nothing but a desperate attempt to recreate the sound of early Guns ‘N’ Roses, with absolutely no innovation or creativity. Say what you will about Chinese Democracy, at least it was different.

4: Primus – Primus & the Chocolate Factory with the Fungi Ensemble

Primus And The Chocolate Factory With The Fungi EnsembleThe latest studio album by Primus consisted entirely of covers of songs from the 1971 Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory film. Not necessarily a bad idea. That Handsome Devil, released a fantastic EP a few years ago doing the same to The Jungle Book. But where their style suited the music from that film, Primus doesn’t do the same.

Songs like “Cheer up Charlie” and “Pure Imagination” just don’t work in Primus’ weird, manic style. It’s an odd mesh that ruins the charm of the originals. What is odd however is that even the songs that should have worked just don’t. There’s no reason why Primus couldn’t record good versions of the various “Oompa Loomp” songs, but they simply fall flat. Those looking for new material from the band would be better off checking out Les Claypool’s solo album from this year, Four Foot Shack.

3: The Flaming Lips – With a Little Help from My Fwends

With A Little Help From My FwendsThis and the Primus album were pretty close, but in the end I have to say that With a Little Help from My Fwends, a full-album cover of The Beatles’ classic Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band was worse. Although its source material is overall better, it’s a far more infuriatingly bad album.

Although Primus and the Chocolate Factory fell flat, I at least thought that they wanted to make a good album. This feels like The Flaming Lips wanted to record a new album but couldn’t be bothered writing new music. Although Primus’ sound didn’t mesh well with its source material, I felt like they wanted to do something distinct and unique. This album throws bells and whistles on top of classic Beatles tracks to give the illusion of creativity. None of The Flaming Lips’ cover albums have been great, but this one feels like absolutely no effort was put in to it.

2: Coldplay – Ghost Stories

Ghost StoriesIt’s easy to hate Coldplay, but I honestly don’t. I’m far from a fan but they have a handful of good songs and I wouldn’t call any of their previous albums bad. At worst they’re bland, but they can occasionally record really good tracks like “Shiver.” I get why people dislike the band, but I’m not sure I get why they hate them with such venom.

Trust me then when I say that Ghost Stories is terrible. Every exaggerated criticism of Coldplay felt entirely true on this album. Chris Martin drones through the songs, there’s not a single creative moment on here and through the 42 minute runtime there wasn’t a single moment that I didn’t want to be listening to it. I may have never been a fan, but only now do I finally get the hate.

1: In Flames – Siren Charms

Siren CharmsThere was no doubt in my mind that Siren Charms was going to top this list. From the moment I heard it I was just filled with utter contempt and disgust for it. I absolutely despise this album. And I really wish I could explain why.

To metal purists, In Flames sold out a long time ago, but I didn’t exactly mind. I wasn’t a fan of them before they sold out, I’m not a big fan of the now, and my favourite of their albums would be the very mainstream Reroute to Remain. I didn’t mind their last album, truth be told I don’t have any big problems with any of their albums. They’re not exactly a band I think about a lot. Perhaps Siren Charms was some weird breaking point for me. Perhaps it was just plain bad. I really wish I could better describe my hatred for this album but sometimes these things are just irrational. All I know is that Siren Charms is by far my most hated album of 2014.