Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

After yesterday’s leak of “Universal Flame,” yet another track from Devin Townsend’s upcoming album has leaked, this time coming from the second disc, Dark Matters. This track, “Ziltoidian Empire” has a lot more in common with the original Ziltoid the Omniscient album and will no doubt satiate fans of the alien puppet until the album’s release.

I have to say, I enjoy it a lot less than the previous leak, although that is simply down to personal taste. Despite the love it gets, Ziltoid the Omniscient would be fairly close to the bottom of my list if I were to rank Devin’s solo albums. Meanwhile the pop/metal hybrid Addicted which “Universal Flame” is somewhat similar to would be at the top.

That’s not to say that I dislike “Ziltoidian Empire” or Ziltoid in general. I am enjoying the track, although I feel it’s too plot heavy to work on its own. No doubt it’ll sound much better when put together with the rest of Dark Matters.